Beautiful mental clarity. Life after a hysterectomy for PMDD

by msjekyllhyde

I’ve been meaning to post for ages but I’ve been very busy cracking on with life! My recovery has gone extremely well.  I strongly believe that having a hysterectomy (with removal of the ovaries) was the best possible thing I could have done for my mental health.

My ambition is back with a vengeance, I can once again envisage myself accomplishing my goals, and I don’t generally feel overwhelmed by the steps needed. One of the things I love is that I now barely ever cry! It’s fantastic to be able to have a row without getting tearful, this was impossible for me before the hysterectomy/Decapeptyl*, I would crumple. The chapter in Dr Louann Brizendine’s excellent book The Female Brain about the ‘take no prisoners’ post-menopausal brain, is exactly how I feel!

I’ll post properly soon.

*Drug which shuts down the ovaries and mimics the menopausal state, used as a trial before hysterectomy. Zoladex does the same thing.

About the author

