Laparoscopic hysterectomy video – amazing and strangely comforting

by msjekyllhyde

Wow! I’ve just watched a full length narrated laparoscopic hysterectomy video performed by the kindly voiced Dr Kevin Stepp, in the US. I wasn’t ready to watch one of these before today, I’d just read up on the procedure, but with 5 days to go until my operation, I felt ready to look. I found the video strangely comforting and absolutely fascinating, it’s in real-time and is to educate doctors, it’s completely unsensationalist and neutral.

I am not suggesting that you should watch this too, I’m just sharing that as someone about to have the same surgery, it has helped me by further de-mystifying the process. I hope it goes without saying that you should not watch this if you are the squeamish type. Also, I watched it in the day time when I was feeling calm and postive – please don’t watch this in the middle of the night if you’re feeling low. Look after yourself.

It’s in 4 parts on Youtube, it includes removal of both ovaries and the cervix (after a full discussion with the patient). The patient (who in this case had fibroids and pelvic pain) was home within hours – in the UK the NHS would keep you in for a couple of nights. Each part is about 10 minutes long.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

