Quirky book on sex hormones, a useful introduction to which does what!

by msjekyllhyde

I recently dipped back into my old copy of The Alchemy of Love and Lust by sex therapist Theresa L Crenshaw, published in 1997. I cannot recommend this book highly enough as a lively and quirky introduction into how our different sex hormones make us behave, it’s particularly helpful for anyone battling PMS/PMDD for remembering which hormone does what and when.

Alchemy of Love and Lust

Later an AIDS advisor to the US government, Crenshaw coined the now infamous phrase “You’re not just sleeping with one person, you’re sleeping with everyone they ever slept with”, which became the motto of the safer-sex movement. I wondered why I hadn’t seen any further books from her and did a quick search tonight, only to learn that she sadly died of cancer a few years after ‘Alchemy’ was published, here’s an obituary.

Years ago, in another life, I took the book along to a GP appointment to discuss my concerns about the affect the Pill might be having on my libido – the GP dismissed the book as “pretty heavy stuff” and wouldn’t discuss it. When I complained of having gone off sex with my (then) partner, she suggested that I “lie there and let him get on with it”. I was horrified and could hardly believe what I was hearing, she all but said ‘think of England’ – such antiquated advice! [Note: My libido came back when stopped taking the Pill, and when finally I twigged that the relationship was over!]

